4hr Movie

On one Saturday afternoon, I prepared all the snacks I needed to watch a four hour movie. Well it was actually 3 hours and 50 minutes, but it doesn’t hurt to round, right?

Back to my point, the movie I was so determined to finish was Lawrence of Arabia. According to my English teacher, it was supposed to be one of the greatest of all time.The only reason why I really decided to watch it was because it would be extra credit. No I’m not an over-achiever, I simply failed the quizzes we took for a book, All Quiet on the Western Front. So yes, I need all the points I can get.

One hour into the movie, I didn’t even know I fell asleep. Yeah that didn’t work out well. Then I had to rewind all the way back to the scene I remembered and re-watch it. Some parts of the movie was quite funny and it taught me a lot of lessons. A few of my favorite quotes from the movie was;

“It is recognized that you have a funny sense of humor.”

“My name is for friends only. And I am not friends with a murderer.”

“What no man can provide, Mr. Lawrence, a miracle.”

“Leave no man behind.”

“He is not perfect.” -Auda Abu Tayi

“And a man who tells lies, like me, merely hides the truth. But a man who tells half lies had forgotten where he put it.”

There was one theme from the plot that stuck with me. One of the Arabs wanted to convince Lawrence that he couldn’t change what was already “written,” meaning that everyone was doomed to their fates. However, Lawrence did not listen to him and instead proved the Arab wrong with “Nothing is written unless they write it.”

I believe that it’s one’s actions that leads to the outcome of their life and future. If they make the wrong decisions, then the consequences caused by those choices would later show through obstacles they must face. On the other hand, making sensible decisions would lead to a better life. To sum it all up, I think that karma really do exist.

Like any other movies that involve wars, there was indeed a lot of blood-shed and it gives evidence that a once innocent man who never encouraged violence, could change after witnessing all the dead bodies during a battle. Lawrence was forced to become a devil who eventually grew tired of the sins he made everyday.

 

2 responses to “4hr Movie

Leave a Reply

